Campus & Community

From left to right: Chancellor Kevin Guskiewicz, Margaret Henderson, a representative from the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center, Michael Vazquez and Provost Chris Clemens.Intergenerational discussions about ethics, prevention of human trafficking and UNC Campus EMS services were just some of the efforts recognized at UNC-Chapel Hill’s 24th annual University Public Service Awards on April 11, 2023. Nine Carolina faculty, staff, students and organizations were recognized for outstanding contributions to the campus and broader communities.

Hosted by the Carolina Center for Public Service, the event was held at the Carolina Club and included Chancellor Kevin Guskiewicz and Provost Chris Clemens presenting the Ned Brooks Award for Public Service, the Office of the Provost Engaged Scholarship Awards and the Robert E. Bryan Public Service Awards.

The Ned Brooks for Public Service Award recognizes a staff or faculty member of the UNC-Chapel Hill community who has, in a collaborative and sustained record of service to Carolina, made a difference in the larger community throughout their career. This year’s Ned Brooks award went to Giselle Corbie, Kenan Distinguished Professor of Social Medicine, director of the Center for Health Equity Research, and vice provost for faculty affairs.

The Office of the Provost Engaged Scholarship Awards honor individuals and campus units for public service through engaged teaching, research and partnership. This year’s winners were Michael Vazquez, teaching assistant professor in the Department of Philosophy in the College of Arts and Sciences and director of outreach at the Parr Center for Ethics; and Margaret Henderson, teaching associate professor in the School of Government and the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center.

The Robert E. Bryan Public Service Awards celebrate a specific effort (rather than an overall record) exemplifying outstanding engagement and service to the state of North Carolina. The five Bryan awards recognize an outstanding undergraduate student, graduate student, faculty member, staff member and officially recognized student organization. This year’s student awards went to Jayla Cobbs ’24, public policy and political science dual major in the College of Arts and Sciences, and Ricky Pimentel, doctoral candidate in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at UNC-Chapel Hill and N.C. State University. The Carolina Indian Circle was recognized with the student organization Bryan Award.

The staff and faculty awards were given to Aaron Bachenheimer, executive director of Off-Campus Student Life and Community Partnerships; Molly Berkoff, professor of pediatrics and adolescent medicine and medical director of the child medical evaluation program in the UNC School of Medicine.

Read more about each award winner and their outstanding impact on Carolina…

Related Stories

Beech Award recognizes Atkinson’s use of data to confront disparities

Reporting on N.C.’s Latino Communities

Robin Lee speaks up because she cares