Honoring Outstanding Junior Faculty

The annual Phillip and Ruth Hettleman Prizes for Artistic and Scholarly Achievement have been awarded to four promising faculty members who exemplify groundbreaking and innovative research along with future career promise.

The late Phillip Hettleman, a member of the Carolina class of 1921, and his wife, Ruth, established their prestigious named award in 1986 to recognize the achievements of outstanding junior faculty. The recipients of the $5,000 prize were recognized at a Faculty Council Meeting and they delivered presentations on their research during University Research Week.

This year’s Hettleman Prize awardees are: Danielle Christmas, associate professor within the College of Arts and Sciences’s English and comparative literature department; Yuliya Pylayeva-Gupta, associate professor in the School of Medicine’s genetics department; Seth A. Berkowitz, assistant professor in the School of Medicine’s department of medicine; and Frank Leibfarth, assistant professor in the College’s chemistry department.

Read about this year’s Hettleman recipients…

Related Stories

Restore a Watershed, Protect an Ecosystem

Ask a Professor: Rada Petric

UNC Coach’s Legacy Cemented Forever