Planting Seeds of Success

Four seed grant recipients.

Associate Professor Spencer Barnes, Professor Pat Davison, Assistant Professor Erin Siegal McIntyre and Assistant Professor Eva Zhao are 2021 recipients of seed grants sponsored by the UNC Hussman School of Journalism and Media.

Each of these UNC Hussman faculty members was awarded $5,000 in support of projects in visual communication, documentary production, investigative journalism and crisis communication. These grants will allow these faculty members to conduct innovative research and continue Carolina’s legacy of exploration and excellence.

“These seed grants reward and incentivize faculty research and creative activity that can attract additional funding,” said Dean Susan King, who created the seed grant program in 2012. “We’re a school that wants to make an impact, and outside funding maximizes the reach of our work.”

Read the complete Carolina Story to learn more about each of the recipients…

Related Stories

Ask a Professor: Jeff Greene and Matt Bernacki

A mathematical biologist walks up to a farmer

Be Loud! Center is Elevating Cancer Care for Young Adults at UNC